Citizens of Greece eligible for Visa Waiver Program

News Release from Jewell & Associates, PC - March 31, 2010 Citizens and eligible nationals of Visa Waiver Program (VWP) countries may come to the U.S. as visitors for business or pleasure without first getting visitors’ (B-1 and/or B-2) visas in their passports from U.S. Consulates outside the U.S.  Provided that they are otherwise eligible for admission under applicable statutory and regulatory requirements, they may visit the U.S. for periods of up to 90 days. On March 4, 2010, the Secretary of Homeland Security, in consultation with the Secretary of State, designated Greece as a country that is eligible to participate in the Visa Waiver Program. There now are 36 VWP countries (including the new addition, Greece):

Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brunei, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom.

Remember that, as of January 12, 2009, travelers using the VWP must obtain approval through the Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) prior to travel.  VWP travelers are not permitted to board a carrier to travel by air or sea to the U.S. unless they have been cleared through ESTA.  Complete information on ESTA is available at

© Jewell & Associates, PC 2010