DHS Announces Visa Sanctions on Four Countries

The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) announced on September 13, 2017 that visa sanctions would be imposed on Cambodia, Eritrea, Guinea, and Sierra Leone due to lack of cooperation in accepting their nationals ordered removed from the United States. Some of the specific visa sanctions announced were:

  • The U.S. Embassy in Phnom Penh, Cambodia would discontinue issuance of B visas (temporary visitors for business or pleasure) for Cambodian Ministry of Foreign Affairs employees, with the rank of Director General and above, and their families.
  • The U.S. Embassy in Asmara, Eritrea would discontinue the issuance of all B visas.
  • The U.S. Embassy in Conakry, Guinea would discontinue the issuance of B visas, and F, J, and M visas (temporary visitors for student and exchange programs) to Guinean government officials and their immediate family members. 
  • The U.S. Embassy in Freetown, Sierra Leone would discontinue the issuance of B visas to Ministry of Foreign Affairs officials and immigration officials.

The Department of State must now determine the scope of the visa restrictions, following a standard process.

© Jewell Stewart & Pratt PC 2017