Unconfirmed rumors - more countries could be added to U.S. entry ban

News Release from Jewell Stewart & Pratt – February 1, 2017 Seven countries are currently listed in the President's Executive Order of 1/27/2017 banning entry of some foreign nationals to the United States – Iraq, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen. There are unconfirmed rumors that the following countries/regions could be added to the ban on entry:

Afghanistan Colombia Egypt Lebanon Pakistan Southern Philippines Sulu/Sulawesi seas littoral Trans-Sahara (Mali) Turkey Venezuela

Anyone with country of birth, nationality or citizenship from these countries/regions may wish to consider not departing the United States, if they are already here; or returning to the United States immediately, if they are abroad.

Please refer to our prior posts for more information. In particular, our first post of 02/01/2017 discussed clarifications by the Department of Homeland Security about how it will treat Lawful Permanent Residents, persons with dual nationality, existing nonimmigrant and immigrant visas, and more.

© Jewell Stewart & Pratt PC 2017