Update on rumored expansion of U.S. entry ban to additional countries

News Release from Jewell Stewart & Pratt – February 2, 2017 Seven countries are currently listed in the President’s Executive Order of January 27, 2017 banning entry of some foreign nationals to the United States – Iraq, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen. On February 1, 2017, unconfirmed rumors circulated regarding the potential addition of up to ten more countries/regions, as reported in our second post of 02/01/2017.

As a follow up to the unconfirmed rumors, the U.S. Department of State (DOS) informed the American Immigration Lawyers Association (AILA) on February 2, 2017 that there are no current plans to expand the travel ban beyond current seven countries.

Further, DOS issued a statement on February 2, 2017 clarifying that, “This Executive Order does not restrict the travel of dual nationals from any country with a valid U.S. visa in a passport of an unrestricted country. Our Embassies and Consulates around the world will continue to process visa applications and issue nonimmigrant and immigrant visas to otherwise eligible visa applicants who apply with a passport from an unrestricted country, even if they hold dual nationality from one of the seven restricted countries.”

Please refer to our prior posts for more information on the Executive Order of January 27, 2017 (Executive Order 13769, titled “Protecting the Nation from Terrorist Attacks by Foreign Nationals”) and subsequent clarifications by the Department of Homeland Security about how it will treat Lawful Permanent Residents, persons with dual nationality, existing nonimmigrant and immigrant visas, and more.

© Jewell Stewart & Pratt PC 2017